Please update your browser

We have detected that you are using an outdated browser that will prevent you from using
certain features. An update is required to improve your browsing experience.

Use the links below to upgrade your existing browser

Hello, visitor.

Register Now

• The principle of DO NO HARM plays a key and vital role in ensuring that data collection, analysis and use does not cause harm either to those it was collected from and/or those it will be applied to.

• Consent and experience of participants is very important to take note during your data collection process.

• It's true,
    I remember the time I worked as an enumerator for a certain organisation. The first thing I used was to educate or sensitise the communities about our project and why we needed data from them. Then, I can ask them if I can collect data from them, and some of them could even decline my request. The problem which have observed so far is that some enumerators they do not know the ethics considerations when it comes to collect data from the participants.

• To ensure that your M&E practices cause no harm to participants, stakeholders or other people, I must first consider the experience of my participants, ensure that all participants give informed consent to collect and use their data as well as ensure that, participant data is kept anonymous and confidential. lastly, I have to identify and avoid potential areas where my data may exacerbate existing inequities.

• When dealing with data, individuals and organizations need to consider ethics and avoid causing harm. There are few key aspects related to the context of do no harm. These are - 1. Ensure the consent of participants when collecting data. 2. Ensure privacy and security of collected data. 3. Ensure fair and ethical use of data. 4. Ensure accountability and transparency. 5. Maintain data accqurecy.

• What an interesting topic.